Land Update!

So much has happened since last I wrote. I waited this long to make sure to have plenty to write about. Plus, I am have been struggling with extreme dry eye since last October and so limit my time on the computer quite a bit these days. Thankfully, I go through periods of relief from the dry eye, like now – such a blessing – so I can spend a bit more time writing, something I have really missed.

We have cleared almost all the debris from the land and the mobile home. All that remains is a pile of junk at the front of the property that we are still adding to as we find surprise junk in random places. The previous owner was a definite hoarder both indoors and out. It is so sad how some can so easily mistreat the land and even their own personal space. I do hope he gets the help he needs at some point.

We had 8 beehives delivered the end of March, the same day the inside of the mobile home was cleared of the previous owner’s hoard. The bees will not be productive hives (we won’t get honey). They are merely for agricultural exemption purposes. Still, the bees seem happy feasting on the numerous wildflowers on the property.

The two weekends after that have been filled with clearing. We rented an excavator and made significant progress. Just last weekend we demoed the unfinished home addition and burned the rubble. It was quite satisfying to watch the rotten mess disappear.

Just yesterday I submitted pictures of the mobile home on the property to a nonprofit who repurposes mobile homes for the less fortunate. What they do is work with those with little to no credit who cannot afford to put money down on a home of their own by offering them zero interest short-term loans on homes. Their clients visit the donated homes and choose the one they like. Once approved, the home is moved within a mile of the original location of the home. The nonprofit called within an hour to tell me they wanted the home for their program. It will take 8 weeks to have it removed but it will be completely free and we will get a tax deduction for whatever it is worth, somewhere around $30K. I am really pleased that the home will not be destroyed and will instead help someone who needs a home. Hopefully whoever gets it takes good care of it and enjoys their new home.

This weekend we have to finish clearing out the inside of the mobile home in preparation for an on-site visit from the nonprofit. We are giving my mom the washer and dryer and leaving the rest of the appliances for the new owners (fridge, range, a/c window units). My husband has to cut down a couple of trees so it can be easily moved off the property. The trees were allowed to grow much to close to the home. We are also getting the septic pumped and inspected. Hopefully it is in good enough shape to be used for our new home.

We’ve had so many adventures since mid-March, mostly fishing and encountering wildlife. My boys have discovered fishing and love it so much that they can hardly wait to visit the property on the weekends. Funny thing is, the fish are in the neighbor’s pond, not ours. I’m sure we have fish, but they are not as eager to bite as the neighbor’s fish are. lol I’ve also enjoyed the fishing, especially teaching my boys what I know. Even my daughter joined in one weekend, though she still swears she “hates” it out there.

We’ve had numerous wildlife encounters. The most bizarre of which has been my accidental discovery of a turkey vulture nest. Then there was the salamander, baby mice, rat snake, and soft shelled turtle. The baby vulture was in a shed we were about to demo. He made sure I knew he was there and to not bulldoze his home. He growled/hissed, sounding somewhat like a cat. Ha!

Here are some photos of our progress and adventures. Enjoy!

Leave a comment